Comparison
MusicGPT vs Suno: plans, limits and rights side by side
MusicGPT sells three paid tiers with unlimited downloads and commercial rights on every paid plan, while Suno sells two tiers that tie commercial use to a monthly download allowance. Here is how they compare on official facts read October 15, 2026.
MusicGPT and Suno: key facts
| Topic | What we found |
|---|---|
| MusicGPT: Free plan | Free forever at $0/month: 500 credits per month, v7 model, medium speed, 2 parallel generations, downloads cost 50 credits each at MP3 quality. No download license and no commercial use on Free. |
| MusicGPT: Paid plans | Billed monthly: Plus $11.99/month, Pro $21.99/month, Ultra $49.99/month. Billed annually: Plus $9.99/month, Pro $16.99/month, Ultra $32.99/month (page says save 34% on a yearly subscription). |
| MusicGPT: Credits or limits | Plus: 5K credits/month (create 100 songs/month), 4 parallel generations. Pro: 25K credits/month (500 songs/month), 8 parallel. Ultra: unlimited (create unlimited songs), 16 parallel. Full song or instrumental costs 50 credits; sound generator 25 credits. Paid plans have unlimited free downloads. Extra non-expiring credits available while subscribed. |
| MusicGPT: Commercial use | Pricing FAQ: on any paid plan MusicGPT grants unlimited, worldwide, restriction-free rights to use output, including commercially. Terms (effective 01 Jan 2025): users on paid plans have full commercial rights to their generated content. |
| MusicGPT: Ownership of outputs | Terms do not use ownership language for generated music; they grant paid users full commercial rights and give MusicGPT a royalty-free, non-exclusive, perpetual license to use, showcase and distribute generated music for improving the Service, marketing and training. Users retain ownership of uploaded files. |
| MusicGPT: Download formats | Download quality listed as MP3 Quality on Free and Plus, Best Quality on Pro and Ultra. Stems download on Pro and Ultra only. Specific lossless format name not stated. |
| MusicGPT: Song length or editing tools | Remix, Extend, Replace and Add vocals/instrumental on Pro and Ultra; sound effects on all plans; text to speech on Pro and Ultra; sound generator and stealth creation on paid plans; pre-release models on Ultra. |
| MusicGPT: Platforms | Web, plus homepage links to an iPhone app (App Store) and an Android app (Google Play). |
| MusicGPT: API | Official API page: 20+ audio features (music generator, remix, extend, replace, TTS, voice changer, AI cover, stem splitter and more), API keys, webhooks, a free tier ('generate up to 10 songs for free') and enterprise sales. Docs at docs.musicgpt.com. |
| MusicGPT: Current model | v7 on Free; v7 Pro on Plus, Pro and Ultra. |
| Suno: Free plan | Free plan at $0/month with 50 credits per day, access to the free model (v6-mini), standard features only, upload up to 8 min of audio, shared creation queue (4 concurrent). No monthly song downloads, no commercial rights, no add-on credit purchases, no stem separation. |
| Suno: Paid plans | Pro: $10/month billed monthly, or $8/month billed annually (page says billing yearly saves $24). Premier: $30/month billed monthly, or $24/month billed annually (saves $72). Taxes calculated at checkout. |
| Suno: Credits or limits | Pro: 2,500 credits per month and 20 song downloads per month. Premier: 10,000 credits per month and 60 song downloads per month. Subscription credits do not carry over day to day or month to month; purchased top-up credits do not expire but require an active subscription. Subscribers who run out of monthly credits get 50 bonus credits per day until renewal. |
| Suno: Commercial use | Pricing FAQ: free plans do not include commercial rights; Pro and Premier songs can be used commercially. Terms: paid users may commercially exploit Output only if it was obtained as a permitted Download within their tier's monthly download allocation. Remixes of other users' songs are personal, non-commercial only on every tier. |
| Suno: Ownership of outputs | Terms (last revised August 10, 2026, effective September 3, 2026): for Pro and Premier subscribers, Suno assigns to the user all of its right, title and interest in Output generated from their submissions, still subject to commercial use restrictions; Suno makes no warranty that copyright will vest in any Output. Free or basic tier users may only use Outputs for lawful, personal and non-commercial purposes. |
| Suno: Download formats | MP3 on all plans (web and mobile). WAV for Pro and Premier on suno.com (mobile downloads default to MP3). Songs can be downloaded as video. Individual stem files when stems exist. MIDI for songs created in Suno Studio, for Premier subscribers. |
| Suno: Song length or editing tools | Plan comparison lists remix (extend, cover, adjust speed), basic editing (crop, fade), advanced editing (replace or add section), stem extraction (2 separation types on Pro, 3 on Premier), add vocals or instrumentals, personas, custom models and Suno Studio (Premier only, described as now with MIDI, effects, automation and design-your-own-plugins). Maximum song length not stated on the pricing page. |
| Suno: Platforms | Web (suno.com) plus a mobile app that the help center says is in limited release for iOS (App Store) and Android (Google Play), listed as Suno- AI Songs & Music Maker. |
| Suno: API | Suno operates platform.suno.com, which describes Suno's music generation engine behind a simple REST API with sign-in to manage an API account. The page does not state public availability, access requirements or pricing. |
| Suno: Current model | v6 and v6-wild for Pro and Premier (described as top models); v6-mini for free users. |
Products change often. Check the source for the latest details before you decide.
Key differences in one list
A note on who is writing: AI Song Generator sells its own paid music generator, so this comparison comes from a competitor. All MusicGPT and Suno details below were taken from their official pricing pages, terms, help center and API pages on October 15, 2026, and every fact is linked with its date at the end of the page. Prices were displayed in US dollars and can differ by region, tax and offers.
- Tiers: MusicGPT has Free, Plus, Pro and Ultra; Suno has Free, Pro and Premier.
- Monthly billing: MusicGPT Plus $11.99, Pro $21.99, Ultra $49.99; Suno Pro $10, Premier $30.
- Yearly billing, per month: MusicGPT Plus $9.99, Pro $16.99, Ultra $32.99; Suno Pro $8, Premier $24.
- Downloads on paid plans: unlimited and free on MusicGPT; 20 songs a month on Suno Pro and 60 on Suno Premier.
- Free plans: MusicGPT gives 500 credits a month; Suno gives 50 credits a day.
- API: MusicGPT documents a developer API with a small free allowance; Suno describes a REST API without stating access or pricing.
Free plans: monthly pool versus daily refill
MusicGPT calls its $0 plan free forever. It includes 500 credits a month on the v7 model at medium speed with 2 parallel generations. A full song or instrumental costs 50 credits, and on Free each MP3 download also costs 50 credits, so a month of free credits covers about ten songs with no downloads, or about five songs if you download each one. Free includes no download license and no commercial use.
Suno Free refills daily with 50 credits on the v6-mini model, with standard features, audio uploads of up to 8 minutes and a shared queue of 4 concurrent jobs. It includes no monthly song downloads, no commercial rights, no add-on credits and no stem separation. Output may be used only for lawful, personal and non-commercial purposes.
The shape of the allowance matters more than the totals here. A monthly pool suits someone who experiments in bursts, while a daily refill suits steady, short sessions, and unused daily credits are simply lost.
Paid tiers and monthly volume
MusicGPT states its paid volume in songs. Plus gives 5K credits a month (100 songs) with 4 parallel generations, Pro gives 25K credits (500 songs) with 8 parallel, and Ultra is listed as unlimited songs with 16 parallel. The sound generator costs 25 credits per use. Extra credits that do not expire can be bought while subscribed, and the pricing page says yearly billing saves 34%.
Suno Pro includes 2,500 credits and 20 song downloads a month, and Premier includes 10,000 credits and 60 downloads. Subscription credits do not carry over between days or months, purchased top-ups never expire but need an active subscription, and a subscriber who runs dry gets 50 bonus credits a day until renewal. The Suno pricing page does not convert credits into a song count.
Because the two services count usage differently, a cost-per-song figure across them would be guesswork. A fairer test is to estimate how many finished, downloaded songs you need each month and check which plan covers that number.
Commercial rights, licenses and download quality
The MusicGPT pricing FAQ says any paid plan grants unlimited, worldwide, restriction-free rights to use output, including commercially, and its terms, effective January 1, 2025, give paid users full commercial rights to their generated content. The terms do not use ownership language for generated music. They also give MusicGPT a royalty-free, non-exclusive, perpetual license to use, showcase and distribute generated music for improving the service, marketing and training. Users keep ownership of files they upload.
Suno terms, revised August 10, 2026 and effective September 3, 2026, assign Suno rights in output to Pro and Premier subscribers, with no warranty that copyright will vest. Paid users may exploit output commercially only when it was a permitted download within the monthly allocation of their tier, and remixes of songs by other users stay personal and non-commercial on every tier.
On files, MusicGPT lists MP3 quality on Free and Plus and Best Quality on Pro and Ultra, without naming the lossless format, and stem downloads on Pro and Ultra only. Suno offers MP3 on every plan, WAV on Pro and Premier at suno.com (mobile defaults to MP3), video downloads, individual stems when they exist and MIDI for Suno Studio songs on Premier.
Editing tools and extras
MusicGPT reserves Remix, Extend, Replace and Add vocals or instrumental for Pro and Ultra. Sound effects are on every plan, text-to-speech is on Pro and Ultra, the sound generator and stealth creation are on paid plans, and Ultra gets pre-release models. Free uses v7; Plus, Pro and Ultra use v7 Pro.
Suno spreads its tools across Pro and Premier: extend, cover and speed adjustment, crop and fade, replace or add a section, stem extraction (2 separation types on Pro, 3 on Premier), adding vocals or instrumentals, personas and custom models. Premier adds Suno Studio, which Suno describes as now having MIDI, effects, automation and design-your-own plugins. Paid Suno plans use v6 and v6-wild.
Suno's help center says one generation can run up to 8 minutes; MusicGPT's pricing page does not state a maximum.
Apps and developer API
MusicGPT runs on the web, and its homepage links to an iPhone app and an Android app. Suno runs on the web, and its help center says its mobile app is in limited release for iOS and Android.
The API picture differs more. MusicGPT has an official API page listing more than 20 audio features, including music generation, remix, extend, replace, text-to-speech, voice changer, AI cover and stem splitting, with API keys, webhooks, a free tier that generates up to 10 songs, enterprise sales and documentation at docs.musicgpt.com. Per-request API prices were not on the pages we read. At platform.suno.com, Suno describes its music engine behind a REST API with an account sign-in but says nothing about public availability, access requirements or pricing.
How AI Song Generator compares as a third choice
We do not rank MusicGPT, Suno or ourselves on sound. AI Song Generator runs on third-party music generation models, and listening preferences vary, so the useful test is one prompt and one set of lyrics run in each service on the same day, judged without labels.
On product facts: AI Song Generator is paid-only, with no free plan. As of October 15, 2026, Creator is $9.99 a month or $99 a year for 800 credits a month, Pro is $19.99 a month or $199 a year for 1,800 credits, and Studio is $39.99 a month or $399 a year for 3,750 credits. Credits refresh each month, also on annual plans. A standard request costs about 20 credits and can come back with more than one variation; you see the cost before each action, and failed jobs are refunded.
Tools include Simple and Custom modes, instrumental tracks, a lyrics generator, extend, replace section, cover and remix, restyling a song you own, adding vocals, stem splitting and vocal removal for library tracks, WAV conversion and MP3 downloads. A music video Studio makes lyric videos and visualizers from Creator, with AI scene videos from Pro, and everything is private by default. Commercial use depends on your plan, our Terms, your inputs and the law; we make no ownership or clearance promise, and the AI music copyright guide explains what to verify.
Keep exploring
Related
- How we compare AI music generatorsHow we compare AI music generators: dated facts from official sources, blind listening tests, the criteria we score, independence and corrections.
- A MusicGPT alternative with editing tools fro…MusicGPT pricing and free plan in 2026, which tools sit on which tier, and what its terms say about rights, set against how AI Song Generator plans work.
- Suno alternative: how AI Song Generator compares on pri…Looking for a Suno alternative? Compare Suno pricing, free plan, download limits and commercial terms with AI Song Generator, with dated facts.
- How to choose the best AI music generator for…There is no single best AI music generator. Use this buyer's guide to choose criteria, ask the right questions about pricing and rights, and test tools fairly.
- /pricing
- Mureka vs Suno: what separates two services a…Mureka vs Suno on dated official facts: same $10 and $30 prices, very different credit sizes, download caps, ownership terms, models and developer APIs.
FAQ