Comparison
Suno vs Udio: how the two compare in 2026
Suno and Udio list almost the same paid prices, but as of October 15, 2026 they differ sharply on rights: Suno lets paid users use songs commercially within a monthly download allowance, while Udio keeps ownership of output, limits it to personal non-commercial use and has disabled downloads.
Suno and Udio: key facts
| Topic | What we found |
|---|---|
| Suno: Free plan | Free plan at $0/month with 50 credits per day, access to the free model (v6-mini), standard features only, upload up to 8 min of audio, shared creation queue (4 concurrent). No monthly song downloads, no commercial rights, no add-on credit purchases, no stem separation. |
| Suno: Paid plans | Pro: $10/month billed monthly, or $8/month billed annually (page says billing yearly saves $24). Premier: $30/month billed monthly, or $24/month billed annually (saves $72). Taxes calculated at checkout. |
| Suno: Credits or limits | Pro: 2,500 credits per month and 20 song downloads per month. Premier: 10,000 credits per month and 60 song downloads per month. Subscription credits do not carry over day to day or month to month; purchased top-up credits do not expire but require an active subscription. Subscribers who run out of monthly credits get 50 bonus credits per day until renewal. |
| Suno: Commercial use | Pricing FAQ: free plans do not include commercial rights; Pro and Premier songs can be used commercially. Terms: paid users may commercially exploit Output only if it was obtained as a permitted Download within their tier's monthly download allocation. Remixes of other users' songs are personal, non-commercial only on every tier. |
| Suno: Ownership of outputs | Terms (last revised August 10, 2026, effective September 3, 2026): for Pro and Premier subscribers, Suno assigns to the user all of its right, title and interest in Output generated from their submissions, still subject to commercial use restrictions; Suno makes no warranty that copyright will vest in any Output. Free or basic tier users may only use Outputs for lawful, personal and non-commercial purposes. |
| Suno: Download formats | MP3 on all plans (web and mobile). WAV for Pro and Premier on suno.com (mobile downloads default to MP3). Songs can be downloaded as video. Individual stem files when stems exist. MIDI for songs created in Suno Studio, for Premier subscribers. |
| Suno: Song length or editing tools | Plan comparison lists remix (extend, cover, adjust speed), basic editing (crop, fade), advanced editing (replace or add section), stem extraction (2 separation types on Pro, 3 on Premier), add vocals or instrumentals, personas, custom models and Suno Studio (Premier only, described as now with MIDI, effects, automation and design-your-own-plugins). Maximum song length not stated on the pricing page. |
| Suno: Platforms | Web (suno.com) plus a mobile app that the help center says is in limited release for iOS (App Store) and Android (Google Play), listed as Suno- AI Songs & Music Maker. |
| Suno: API | Suno operates platform.suno.com, which describes Suno's music generation engine behind a simple REST API with sign-in to manage an API account. The page does not state public availability, access requirements or pricing. |
| Suno: Current model | v6 and v6-wild for Pro and Premier (described as top models); v6-mini for free users. |
| Udio: Free plan | Free at $0/month, no credit card required: 10 credits per day and 100 credits per month (no rollovers), up to 4 songs generating at the same time, limit of 3 full length (2:10) song generations per day. Free users can Remix and Extend. |
| Udio: Paid plans | Standard: $10/month billed monthly, or $8/month billed annually ($96 per year). Pro: $30/month billed monthly, or $24/month billed annually ($288 per year). Page also offers GBP and EUR, notes tax rates may vary, and offers a Standard free trial and student pricing. |
| Udio: Credits or limits | Standard: 2,400 credits per month; Pro: 6,000 credits per month (no rollovers). 1 credit corresponds to one ~30 second track; each generation makes 2 tracks (2 credits); the udio130 2-minute model costs more. Extra credits: 100 for $3.00, 1,000 for $25.00; purchased credits never expire. |
| Udio: Commercial use | Terms (last revised November 12, 2025) prohibit exploiting the Services, any Output or other users' outputs for any commercial purpose; Output may be used solely for personal and non-commercial purposes. |
| Udio: Ownership of outputs | Terms state that the Company or its affiliates or licensors own and will continue to own the Services and the Output. Udio does not claim ownership of user-uploaded content (Your Content). |
| Udio: Download formats | Downloads are disabled. Terms: users may not download copies of any Output and may not distribute it to personal devices or streaming/UGC platforms; sharing hyperlinks on approved services may be permitted. Help center: downloading of audio, video and stems has been disabled (article dated February 17, 2026, tied to the October 29, 2025 Universal Music Group partnership). |
| Udio: Song length or editing tools | Plan comparison lists 32 second and 130 second songs (130 second limited to 3 per day on Free), extend, remix, Styles (musical reference), premium Artist Styles, blend and reduce styles, edit music and lyrics, Voices library, saved Voices and audio uploads (several of these on paid plans only). |
| Udio: Platforms | Web (udio.com). Official changelog lists an iOS app released in the Apple App Store on May 21, 2025. |
| Udio: Current model | Official changelog lists Allegro v1.5 model version launched March 18, 2025 (latest model entry); pricing FAQ also references a udio130 2-minute model. |
Products change often. Check the source for the latest details before you decide.
Suno and Udio at a glance
This page was written by AI Song Generator, which sells its own paid AI music product, so treat it as a comparison from an interested party. Every statement about Suno or Udio below was read on the pricing pages, terms and help centers on October 15, 2026, and each fact is listed with its source further down the page. Prices were shown in US dollars and can vary by region, tax and promotions.
On price alone the two services look like twins. The gap opens up once you read what each one lets you do with a finished song.
- Entry paid plan: Suno Pro and Udio Standard are both $10 a month billed monthly, or $8 a month billed yearly.
- Top paid plan: Suno Premier and Udio Pro are both $30 a month billed monthly, or $24 a month billed yearly.
- Monthly credits: Suno lists 2,500 (Pro) and 10,000 (Premier); Udio lists 2,400 (Standard) and 6,000 (Pro).
- Downloads: Suno caps song downloads at 20 a month on Pro and 60 on Premier; Udio has disabled audio, video and stem downloads for everyone.
- Commercial use: allowed on Suno paid plans within the download allowance; not allowed on Udio under its current terms.
- Models named on official pages: Suno v6 and v6-wild for paid users and v6-mini for free users; Udio lists Allegro v1.5 as its latest changelog model and references a udio130 2-minute model.
Free tiers: daily credits on both sides
Both companies offer a $0 plan that refills daily. Suno Free gives 50 credits per day, uses the v6-mini model, allows audio uploads of up to 8 minutes and runs on a shared creation queue with 4 concurrent jobs. Its pricing page also lists what Free leaves out: no monthly song downloads, no commercial rights, no add-on credit purchases and no stem separation.
Udio Free needs no credit card and gives 10 credits per day with a ceiling of 100 credits per month, up to 4 songs generating at once and at most 3 full-length (2:10) song generations per day. Free users can still Remix and Extend. Because Udio counts 1 credit as roughly one 30-second track and each generation produces two tracks, a free day goes further on short clips than on full songs.
Neither free tier is designed for releasing music. Suno Free output is limited to lawful, personal, non-commercial purposes under its terms, and Udio output is personal and non-commercial on every plan, free or paid.
Paid plans and how credits behave
Billed yearly, the entry plans of both services come to $96 for the year and the top plans to $288, so the choice is not about price. The differences sit in what a credit buys and what happens to unused ones.
Suno subscription credits do not carry over from day to day or from month to month. Top-up credits bought separately never expire but need an active subscription to use, and a subscriber who runs out before renewal receives 50 bonus credits per day until the plan renews.
Udio monthly credits do not roll over either. Extra credits cost $3.00 for 100 or $25.00 for 1,000 and never expire. The pricing page notes that the udio130 2-minute model costs more than the standard rate, and it also mentions a Standard free trial and student pricing, with GBP and EUR billing available.
A practical way to read the numbers: on Suno, the download allowance (20 or 60 songs a month) is often the tighter limit for someone who publishes music, not the credit balance. On Udio, credits only buy listening and sharing inside the service, because finished files cannot be taken out.
Ownership, commercial use and downloads
This is where the two services stop resembling each other. Suno terms, last revised August 10, 2026 and effective September 3, 2026, say that for Pro and Premier subscribers Suno assigns its right, title and interest in output generated from their submissions to the user. That assignment stays subject to commercial-use restrictions: paid users may exploit output commercially only when it was obtained as a permitted download within the monthly allocation of their tier. Suno also says it does not warrant that copyright will vest in any output, and remixes of songs by other users stay personal and non-commercial on every tier.
Udio terms, last revised November 12, 2025, take the opposite position. The company, its affiliates or licensors own and continue to own the output, users may use it only for personal and non-commercial purposes, and exploiting output commercially is prohibited. Users may not download copies or move output to personal devices or streaming and UGC platforms; sharing links on approved services may be allowed. The Udio help center ties the end of downloads for audio, video and stems to its October 29, 2025 partnership with Universal Music Group. Udio does not claim ownership of content users upload themselves.
On formats, Suno offers MP3 on all plans, WAV for Pro and Premier on suno.com (mobile downloads default to MP3), song downloads as video, individual stem files when stems exist and MIDI for songs made in Suno Studio on Premier. Udio has no download format to compare, because downloading is off.
Editing tools, apps and API access
The Suno plan comparison lists remix tools (extend, cover, adjust speed), basic editing (crop, fade), advanced editing to replace or add a section, stem extraction with 2 separation types on Pro and 3 on Premier, adding vocals or instrumentals, personas, custom models and Suno Studio, a Premier-only workspace described as having MIDI, effects, automation and design-your-own plugins.
Udio lists 32-second and 130-second songs, extend, remix, Styles that use a musical reference, premium Artist Styles, blending and reducing styles, editing music and lyrics, a Voices library, saved Voices and audio uploads, with several of these reserved for paid plans. The exact per-plan checkmarks are drawn as icons on the pricing page, so this page does not say which plan includes each row.
Suno runs on the web and has a mobile app that its help center describes as in limited release for iOS and Android. Udio runs on the web, and its changelog lists an iOS app released on May 21, 2025; the official pages read do not mention an Android app.
For developers, Suno operates platform.suno.com, which describes its music engine behind a REST API with an account sign-in, but the page does not state public availability, access rules or pricing. The official Udio pages we read do not describe a public API.
Which one fits which need
We do not publish audio-quality rankings. Sound is subjective and both companies update their models, so the fair test is to write one prompt and one set of lyrics, run them in both services on the same day, generate a few takes each and listen without looking at the labels.
- You want to release songs on streaming platforms or use them in client work: of these two, only Suno paid plans allow commercial use, and only for songs downloaded within the monthly allowance.
- You make music for fun and are happy to listen and share links inside the service: both work, and Udio Free allows 3 full-length generations a day.
- You need stems, WAV or MIDI files: Suno offers them on paid plans; Udio has disabled stem and audio downloads.
- You want to build an app on top of a music model: neither company publishes API pricing or a general-availability statement on the pages we read.
Where AI Song Generator fits as a third option
AI Song Generator is a paid-only service with no free plan. As of October 15, 2026, Creator costs $9.99 a month or $99 a year with 800 credits a month, Pro costs $19.99 a month or $199 a year with 1,800 credits, and Studio costs $39.99 a month or $399 a year with 3,750 credits. Credits refresh every month, annual plans included. A standard request costs about 20 credits and can return more than one variation, the cost appears before every action and failed jobs are refunded.
Unlike Udio today, AI Song Generator lets you download what you make: MP3 downloads, WAV conversion, stem splitting and vocal removal for tracks in your library. The Studio covers Simple and Custom modes, instrumentals, a lyrics generator, extend, replace section, cover and remix, restyling a song you own, adding vocals and a music video Studio with lyric videos and visualizers (AI scene videos from the Pro plan). Tracks are private by default.
AI Song Generator runs on third-party music generation models and does not claim to sound better than Suno, Udio or anyone else. Whether you can use a track commercially depends on your plan, our Terms, what you put in and the law where you are; we do not promise ownership or clearance. Our AI music copyright guide explains the questions to ask before you release anything.
Keep exploring
Related
- How we compare AI music generatorsHow we compare AI music generators: dated facts from official sources, blind listening tests, the criteria we score, independence and corrections.
- Suno alternative: how AI Song Generator compares on pri…Looking for a Suno alternative? Compare Suno pricing, free plan, download limits and commercial terms with AI Song Generator, with dated facts.
- Looking for a Udio alternative after download…Udio disabled downloads and limits output to personal, non-commercial use. Its 2026 pricing and terms, and how AI Song Generator handles rights.
- AI music copyright: what applies to AI-made s…A plain-English guide to AI music copyright: human authorship, who owns AI outputs, training disputes, uploads, voices, registration and safer commercial use.
- /pricing
- MusicGPT vs Suno: plans, limits and rights si…MusicGPT vs Suno: three MusicGPT tiers against two Suno tiers, credits per song, download limits, commercial rights and API access, from official pages.
FAQ